Now Reading
The Weeknd Wins 2021 Songwriter of the Year at Ascap Pop Music Awards

The Weeknd Wins 2021 Songwriter of the Year at Ascap Pop Music Awards

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) has announced the winners of the 2021 ASCAP Pop Music Awards, which will be celebrated on @ASCAP social media through April 15. After a record-setting year following the release of his double platinum album After Hours, The Weeknd is named ASCAP Songwriter of the Year for the first time in his career.

Known for his signature alternative R&B sound, velvety voice and pitch-perfect falsetto, The Weeknd undeniably dominated the charts in 2020. Taking home the ASCAP Songwriter of the Year honor and two most-performed song awards for smash hits “Blinding Lights” and “Heartless,” The Weeknd is now a 13-time ASCAP Awards winner. As the critical and commercial success of After Hours continues, “Blinding Lights” closes in on diamond-certified status, while becoming the first song in history to spend an entire year in the Billboard Hot 100’s top 10.

Post Malone won the ASCAP Pop Music Awards Song of the Year for “Circles,” honoring ASCAP hitmakers Louis Bell, Kaan Güneşberk, and Billy Walsh alongside publishers Nyan King Music, Sony Music Publishing, and Universal Music Publishing Group. The third single off the chart-topping album Hollywood’s Bleeding, “Circles” spent 39 weeks in the top 10 on the Billboard Hot 100 and marks the artist’s first #1 hit as a solo billing.

Warner Chappell Music receives Publisher of the Year. The prestigious award recognizes the prominent publisher for their contribution to the pop music soundtrack of 2020 with top tracks “10,000 Hours,” “Blinding Lights,” “Lose You to Love Me,” “ROCKSTAR” and more.

See Also

The ASCAP Pop Music Awards featured an Instagram Live interview and performance from Lewis Capaldi’s “Before You Go” co-writer and ASCAP Award winner Phil Plested (additional co-writers Ben Kohn and Pete “Merf” Kelleher are also winners). Later this week “Kings & Queens” co-writers Madison Emiko Love and Leland will take the ASCAP Instagram Live stage to tell the story behind their hit for Ava Max (co-written by winners Desmond Child, Cirkut, and Mimoza) on Wednesday, April 14 at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT. The social media events will also include an exclusive performance of “Die From a Broken Heart” from Maddie & Tae featuring ASCAP Award-winning songwriter Maddie Marlow (co-writers Deric Ruttan and Jonathan Singleton are also winners).

The 2021 ASCAP Pop Music Awards recognize the songwriters and publishers of the most performed songs of the past year in pop music. The complete list of winners is available on the ASCAP website:

Scroll To Top