Now Reading
‘Tenet’ Will Debut Internationally Followed by the US

‘Tenet’ Will Debut Internationally Followed by the US

  • 'Tenet' will debut internationally first before debuting in the U.S.

Tenet may be back on the US schedule but not as soon as people think. The Christopher Nolan sci-fi thriller will be premiering internationally first starting August 26 and will debut in select U.S. cities on Labor Day, September 3.

Warner Bros announced it will launch oversees in territories including Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Korea, Russia and the United Kingdom. The select cities in the U.S. has not been confirmed yet.

Tenet is set to be the first major release after movie theater closures due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The film suffered from many release date changes until it was pulled indefinitely. But with the studio plugging it back into the release schedule, it hopes that theaters will be running in at least a safe context.

The news of Tenet returning to the release schedule will force studios to make more decisions. Disney had pulled Mulan after Tenet was pulled indefinitely while pushing some major releases back a year.

With cases rising, studios must work on a case by case basis as there is no way to tell how movie theaters will return.

Current Tenet’s global release plan below (Subject to change): 

Wednesday, Aug. 26:
Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Holland, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Italy, Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Thursday, Aug. 27:
Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Canada, Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Israel, Lebanon, Malaysia, Middle East, New Zealand, Poland, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates

Friday, Aug. 28:
East Africa, Ghana, Nigeria, Norway, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Vietnam

Wednesday, Sept. 3:
United States, Kuwait and Qatar

Thursday, Sept. 10:
Azerbaijan, CIS Others, Kazakhstan, Russia

Thursday, Sept. 17:

Friday, Sept. 18:

Dates TBD:
Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Puerto Rico, South Africa, Uruguay, Venezuela

Scroll To Top