Now Reading
Tears For Fears Announce First New Album in 17 Years ‘The Tipping Point’

Tears For Fears Announce First New Album in 17 Years ‘The Tipping Point’

Legendary duo Tears For Fears have announced their first new studio album in nearly two decades, THE TIPPING POINT dropping on February 25, 2022, via Concord Records. The band also released the track of the same name. Pre-order the album here

Regarding the album, Roland Orzabal says, “Before everything went so right with this album, everything first had to go wrong, it took years, but something happens when we put our heads together. We’ve got this balance, this push-me-pull-you thing – and it works really well.” Curt Smith agrees, “If that balance doesn’t work on a Tears For Fears album, the whole thing just doesn’t work. To put it in simple terms, a Tears For Fears record and what people perceive to be the sound of Tears For Fears – is the stuff we can both agree on.” 

Despite their many hits and 30 million albums sold, the band started making this new record by committee with some of today’s hit songwriters at the behest of their previous management. Before long, this reluctant attempt at compromise failed. Orzabal explains, “Eventually, that pressure and tension divided us not just from our management, but from one another too.” The band switched to new management, who raved over the five tracks the band could both agree on. Orzabal continues, “Suddenly, for the first time in a long time, we felt like we had someone in our corner who understood what we were trying to do. We felt like we had somebody on our side. It was the first time in a long time that we decided – we have to do this.” 

Orzabal and Smith teamed up with their longtime collaborator Charlton Pettus along with producers and songwriters Sacha Skarbek and Florian Reutter. “When you’ve known each other as long as we have, and have worked together as long as we have, there’s a bond there that becomes familial. So, it’s different from a friendship,” Smith says. “And it’s different from a marriage. It’s literally like that’s your brother. It’s the kind of bond that you can’t really break. It can fall apart at times. You separate for periods, which I also think is healthy, really. But in the end, we always seem to find each other again.”


1. No Small Thing

2. The Tipping Point 

3. Long, Long, Long Time

4. Break The Man

5. My Demons

6. Rivers Of Mercy

7. Please Be Happy

See Also

8. Master Plan

9. End Of Night

10. Stay

Additional Tracks On The Deluxe CD Edition
11. Let It All Evolve

12. Secret Location

13. Shame (Cry Heaven)

Scroll To Top