Now Reading
New Music Friday: 8.20.21

New Music Friday: 8.20.21


This week’s picks are ready to get your feels. Whether you need to cry and dance or simply reminisce on the past, there’s something for everyone. Here’s this week’s New Music Friday.

Kaz – Drown

INTERSECTION’s Kaz has released his second self-produced single “Drown” featuring Hikari Mitsushima. About the song, Kaz says, “This single was originally produced as an interlude for the EP. When we got the chance to introduce this music to Hikari, we also offered her to sing it together. She agreed to join this song so we finished mastering it as a single. Hikari’s voice has added more color and made the song completely new from just one storyline by me to a ‘conversation of two people’. We expressed being drowned in the emotions as a message of this song. Depending on the listener, this may seem like a song that is about the romance of being in love with someone or a song about your own internal feelings that only you know about. It’s best to just listen and understand the way to be drowned by the wave of the emotions in your way, not to be fully explained by someone.”

Zola Courtney – Before We Were Us

Zola Courtney has released the stripped-back single “Before We Were Us.” Zola explains “I wrote ‘before we were us’ from the perspective of someone close to me. They were going through a difficult time in their relationship. I wrote the song to remind them that they were their own person before their relationship. Sometimes I feel it can get forgotten when you’ve been with someone for such a long time.”

Tiwa Savage – Tales By Moonlight

Tiwa Savage releases the new track “Tales By Moonlight” featuring Amaarae. “On this song I remember (that) program I watched as a child and I’m basically saying that I want to experience the fairytales with the happy endings that were in those stories – this is the kind of love that I want to feel.” Tiwa comments.

See Also

LANY – never mind, let’s break up

LANY is preparing the way for their new album gg bb xx with the release of their latest single “never mind, let’s break up.” The song follows the double singles “up to me,” “dna [demo]” and their collaboration track “Stupid Feelings” with 220 Kid.

Scroll To Top