Now Reading
Maisie Peters Signs to Ed Sheeran’s Gingerbread Man Records, Announces Debut Album

Maisie Peters Signs to Ed Sheeran’s Gingerbread Man Records, Announces Debut Album

Maisie Peters

Maisie Peters has announced that she has signed to Ed Sheeran’s Gingerbread Man Records, and will be releasing her debut album, You Signed Up For This, on August 27. In tandem with the announcement, Peters has revealed that her new single, “Psycho,” co-written with Sheeran and Steve Mac, will be released on July 2. The album is available for pre-order here.

You Signed Up For This is both Peters’ coming of age story and a love letter to girlhood; penned with the wit, charm, and quiet confidence that has seen her ascend from busking on the streets of Brighton to recently making her US TV debut on The Late Late Show with James Corden. It navigates her story from small-town teenager to adulthood, there’s a universal sense of familiarity and nostalgia as she shares memories of blossoming relationships, being played, heartbreak, and first holidays with her twin sister. 

Peters treated fans to their first taste of You Signed Up For This earlier this year with “John Hughes Movie.” The track soared to No. 1 on iTunes the weekend of release, was playlisted across BBC Radio 1 and 2, and has been streamed over 11.5 million times globally to date. 

Peters says, “Signing to Gingerbread is a dream come true. I grew up inspired and in awe of Ed, like many other 13 year olds who heard ‘Lego House’ for the first time, so, it’s kind of amazing and hard to believe that I get to be the 21 year old who is able to call him and the whole Gingerbread team now friends, family and mentors for life. I’m so excited to announce “You Signed Up For This,” it really is my (albeit not hugely long) life’s work and my proudest achievement; it is my favourite album maybe ever and whilst I may be biased, I really hope it goes into the world and becomes lots of other people’s favourite too. It all means the world and is my world and there is nothing I would rather do.” 

Sheeran adds, “Excited to announce that I’ve signed the wonderful Maisie Peters to Gingerbread Man Records. She’s a very special artist who continues to push her storytelling in new directions. We had a few great writing sessions together and from there I knew I had to work with her. Can’t wait for you to hear her debut album.” 

Impressively, “You Signed Up For This” is Maisie’s second full length release in the space of three months, as she recently became one of the youngest musicians in history to write and curate a soundtrack for the second season of Apple TV+ Original Series, Trying, at only 20 years old. Written in just two months last winter, the stunning body of work includes duets with her friends and favorites, including Griff, James Bay, and Bear’s Den. 


1.      You Signed Up For This

2.      I’m Trying (Not Friends)

3.      John Hughes Movie

4.      Outdoor Pool

5.      Love Him I Don’t

6.      Psycho

7.      Boy

See Also
Justin Bieber

8.      Hollow

9.      Villain

10.  Brooklyn

11.  Elvis Song

12.  Talking To Strangers

13.  Volcano

14.  Tough Act

Scroll To Top