Now Reading
JP Saxe Releases Debut Album ‘Dangerous Levels of Introspection’

JP Saxe Releases Debut Album ‘Dangerous Levels of Introspection’

JP Saxe Releases Debut Album 'Dangerous Levels of Introspection'

GRAMMY Award-nominated multihyphenate JP Saxe has released his debut album Dangerous Levels of Introspection. His multi-Platinum breakthrough “If The World Was Ending” (feat. Julia Michaels) proved to be one of the most impactful songs of the pandemic as it exceeded a billion streams and earned a GRAMMY nomination for Song of the Year. He won the JUNO Award for Breakthrough Artist of the Year earlier this month. 

Of the album, Saxe says: “My favorite music has always been the songs that make me feel closer to myself, and I want to make that kind of music,” he observes. “In order to do that, I have to be as close to myself as possible when I write these songs. So, it feels like you get to hear what I’m thinking. There’s no pretense or bullshit. I was as uncompromising as I could possibly be with this album to make sure I really meant everything I was saying about myself and my world.”

Dangerous Levels of Introspection collates many of the highlights that have sound-tracked his career to date. It features the lead single “Like That,” “More Of You,” the Maren Morris collab “Line By Line,” and “A Little Bit Yours.” But it also unveils a wealth of new material which further delves into the heartfelt, reflective song-writing that he has built his name on. The intimate “4:30 in Toronto” opens the album with a vulnerable crescendo of emotion as he ponders “two things that used to feel like home just not anymore, a person and a place. On the other end of the spectrum, he collaborated with the legendary Mike Elizondo and prolific songwriter Audra Mae to bring the finale “Sing Myself To Sleep” to life. He pens a heartfelt tribute to his late mother over acoustic instrumentation.

See Also

In addition to Julia Michaels, Maren Morris, and FINNEAS, John Mayer contributed with his guitar on the song “Here’s Hopin’.” Saxe and Mayer will perform the song together next week on The Late Show With Stephen Colbert. 

JP Saxe will bring his “The Feeling Are Stupid” tour to the U.S. this fall, and across Europe in 2022. Please see his official website for ticket details and a full list of his upcoming shows.

Dangerous Levels of Introspection Tracklist:

1. 4:30 in Toronto
2. Like That
3. More Of You
4. Here’s Hopin’
5. I Shouldn’t Be Here 
6. Dangerous Levels of Introspection
7. If The World Was Ending (featuring Julia Michaels)
8. Tension
9. What Keeps Me From It 
10. For Emilee
11. Line By Line (featuring Maren Morris)
12. A Little Bit Yours
13. Sing Myself To Sleep

Scroll To Top