Now Reading
J. A. Bayona to Direct ‘Society of the Snow’ (La Sociedad de la Nieve) for Netflix

J. A. Bayona to Direct ‘Society of the Snow’ (La Sociedad de la Nieve) for Netflix

J. A. Bayona (The Impossible, The Orphanage, Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom) will direct Society of the Snow (La sociedad de la nieve) based on the book by Pablo Vierci for Netflix.

Set in 1972, Society of the Snow tells the story of the Uruguayan Air Force Flight 571, chartered to fly a rugby team to Chile, catastrophically crashes on a glacier in the heart of the Andes. Only 29 of the 45 passengers survived the crash and find themselves in one of the world’s toughest environments, they are forced to resort to extreme measures to stay alive.

Bayona shared, “It was during the documentation process for The Impossible that I discovered Society of the Snow, Pablo Vierci’s fascinating chronicle about the tragedy of the Andes. More than ten years later, my fascination for the novel remains intact and I am happy to face the challenge that lies ahead: To tell one of the most remembered events of the 20th century, with all the complexity that implies a story that gives so much relevance to the survivors as well as to those who never returned from the mountains. I also face it in Spanish, a language that I excitedly return to after 14 years without filming in my own language, and with a team of young Uruguayan and Argentine actors, whom I’m totally thrilled with.”

“After years of working on the project, we are very excited to start shooting Society of the Snow. We want to thank Netflix for their determined support of this project, which will be shot entirely in Spanish. We would also like to thank Cetursa Sierra Nevada for their involvement in allowing us to film at the ski resort during the Winter season and especially the survivors and families of those who died in the Andes tragedy for their enormous generosity in sharing their story with us,” added producers Belén Atienza and Sandra Hermida.

See Also

The cast includes Enzo Vogrincic Roldán, Matías Recalt, Agustín Pardella, Tomas Wolf, Diego Ariel Vegezzi, Esteban Kukuriczka, Francisco Romero, Rafael Federman, Felipe González Otaño, Agustín Della Corte, Valentino Alonso, Simón Hempe, Fernando Contigiani García, Benjamín Segura, and Jerónimo Bosia.

Filming for Society of the Snow will take place in Sierra Nevada (Andalucía, Spain), in Montevideo (Uruguay), and in various locations in the Andes (both in Chile and Argentina) including El Valle de las Lágrimas, the real location where the story happened. 

Scroll To Top