Now Reading
GOT7 Stokes Hearts Aflame in New Album ‘Breath of Love: Last Piece’

GOT7 Stokes Hearts Aflame in New Album ‘Breath of Love: Last Piece’

Two years since their last full-length release, JB, Mark, Jinyoung, Jackson, Youngjae, BamBam, and Yugyeom bare conscious vulnerability riddled in writings and arias of passion in GOT7’s fourth studio album Breath of Love: Last Piece.

The multinational septet nurtured a seasoned album with ten-tracks reflective of their own individual experiences and style honed by their vocal dexterity, songwriting prowess, and tantalizing kinetic energy. An anthology of love permeated refrains and melodies, the group delivers their narrative and desire to embrace youth through a deft mix of soul-inflected synth-pop songs with subtle textures of trap and alt-R&B elements.

Unflinchingly authentic, each member participated in writing and composing the new album in collaboration with new and long-time lyricists, composers, and producers. Breath of Love: Last Piece features two title tracks, beginning with the electro-pop whistle scored lead single “Breath,” a song penned and composed by Youngjae under the pseudonym of Ars to capture the wonder of holding love’s breath and plenteousness of emotions at first encounter. Written and composed by the group’s leader JB, under the moniker of Defsoul, the succeeding title track “Last Piece” trudges on the chasm within one’s own existence that can only be made whole by the subject of our devotion.

“Born Ready” is an anthemic track that avows a fated love through a fervent confession inscribed and composed by Mark and earattack. In the throes of love and trailing on the edge of desire, the multilingual Kowloon native Jackson Wang penned, composed, and arranged “Special” alongside BOYTOY and Young Sky. Narrating an unwavering love, herein is love steadfast in the impassioned ballad “Wave.” The soulful track was penned and composed by Jin Young in collaboration with Distract and Ludwig Lindell.

Singer-songwriter BamBam charts his longing after a transitory love in his song “Waiting for You.” As the seventh track on the album, Yugyeom signals his mature progression after parting ways with someone he’d hurt yet loved in the song “이젠 내가 할게 (Thank You, Sorry),” written and composed together with NATHAN.

Underscoring the belief of two souls belonging as one, the album includes the song “1+1,” which was composed by Gesture, Rasmus Gregersen, and Ylva Dimber, the latter who has worked with artists in the likes of Taemin, LOONA, Girls’ Generation, BoA, and EXO. “I Mean It” is penned and composed by Ash Milton, Dan Groudie, Los Angeles-based producer and songwriter Noah Conrad, and Jake Torrey. Conrad has worked with Monsta X on “Who Do U Love?” featuring French Montana. The collective brought forth a song that presses the narrative forward by refuting a fickle love with the sheer earnest words that attest to a genuine affection one has for another. Through nimble soul-inflected vocal runs and inflections, the members croon of a prevailing love eternal present without sorrows nor impossibilities in “We Are Young” by Korean lyricist Danke.

The album arrived with a new music video for the title track “Last Piece.” The lead single “Breath” was first released on November 23 with an accompanying music video that has now racked up over 25 million views within the first 5 days of its release. The single charted third on the Worldwide iTunes song chart and peaked at No. 7 on the U.S. iTunes song chart, and fourth on China’s QQ Music surge chart. The single became the highest-charting song for a JYP Entertainment artist.

See Also

GOT7 recently won Performance of the Year for the second year in a row at the 2020 Asia Artist Awards and the group’s leader JB was recently crowned Best All-Rounder at the first-ever APAN Music Awards. The members will perform at 2020 The Fact Music Awards, alongside BTSTWICESuper JuniorNU’ESTMONSTA XSEVENTEEN, and more. They recently earned noms for this year’s Mnet Asian Music Awards (MAMA), including for the Best Male Group category.

Breath of Love: Last Piece is available now in all major music platforms, along with a physical album in seven versions, one for each member.

Watch the “Last Piece” music video below:

Scroll To Top