Now Reading
Daddy Yankee Wins Songwriter of the Year for 3rd Time and His 42nd ASCAP Award at 2021 ASCAP Latin Music Awards

Daddy Yankee Wins Songwriter of the Year for 3rd Time and His 42nd ASCAP Award at 2021 ASCAP Latin Music Awards

Daddy Yankee Wins Songwriter of the Year for 3rd Time and 42nd ASCAP Award at 2021 ASCAP Latin Music Awards

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) has announced the winners of the most performed songs of the past year in Latin music. For the third time in his career, Daddy Yankee is named ASCAP Songwriter of the Year, adding to his record-setting collection for a total of 42 ASCAP Latin Music Awards. He also captured Songwriter-Artist of the Year in 2019 and 2017.

The 2021 ASCAP Latin Music Awards take place on @ASCAP social media from March 23 – 25.

Known as the “King of Reggaeton,” Daddy Yankee has sold approximately 30 million records since his 2004 international hit single “Gasolina” made the genre a global phenomenon. In 2017, in collaboration with Latin pop singer Luis Fonsi, Yankee released the mega hit “Despacito” which became the first Spanish-language song to hit #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 since 1996, the top-selling single of the decade 2010–2019 and the most-watched video on YouTube. Daddy Yankee has been named one of the Most Influential Hispanics by TIME and CNN.

ASCAP Latin Awards Song of the Year goes to heartbreak hit “Tusa” written by Keityn and Juan Camilo Vargas Vásquez; published by Girl Power Publishing, JCV Music, KCMusic, Kobalt, and Sony Music Publishing. Performed by KAROL G and Nicki Minaj, it is the first song by two female artists to debut at #1 on the Billboard Hot Latin Songs chart.

The prestigious Publisher of the Year award is presented to Sony Music Publishing for top songs including “Tusa,” “Caballero” and “La Santa.” ASCAP Chief Executive Officer Elizabeth Matthews, President and Chairman of the Board Paul Williams, EVP and Chief Creative Officer John Titta, Vice President, Latin Membership Gabriela Gonzalez and the ASCAP Latin team hosted a virtual toast with Sony Music Publishing President and CEO, Latin America and US Latin Jorge Mejia, his team and winning SMP songwriters Keityn, Elena Rose, Nino Karlo Segarra, Juan Camilo Vargas Vásquez, Daniel Rondón and Rafa Rodríguez (The Honeyboos) to celebrate the award.

The event kicked off last night with a virtual pre-concert featuring performances from winners Danny Ocean, Elena Rose, and Vibarco. The coming days will feature special performances and appearances on ASCAP’s social media accounts from Latin music superstars Marc AnthonyJhay Cortez, Farruko, Génesis ‘Nesi’ Rios, Nio Garcia, Tempo, and more.

See Also
NCT 127

ASCAP Chairman of the Board and President Paul Williams introduced the rollout of the winners, saying, “We are so thrilled to honor your amazing achievements of the past year at our El Premio ASCAP – our annual Latin Music Awards. Once again we will come together in spirit and solidarity. Starting today, we welcome your fans from all over the world to join in and celebrate your success. On behalf of your ASCAP family, I want to say congratulations to all of this year’s winners for your incredible musical achievements. Felicitaciones!”

The complete list of winners is available here:

Scroll To Top