Now Reading
BTS ‘Butter’ Co-Writers Jenna Andrews and Alex Bilo Talk ‘Anatomy Of A Song’ In ASCAP Experience on September 29

BTS ‘Butter’ Co-Writers Jenna Andrews and Alex Bilo Talk ‘Anatomy Of A Song’ In ASCAP Experience on September 29

The ASCAP Experience, ASCAP‘s signature event created to inspire, educate and connect aspiring songwriters and composers everywhere, has released its September programming schedule.

Catering to emerging music creators, music industry professionals, and fans alike, September’s programming will feature an “Anatomy of a Song” conversation with Jenna Andrews and Alex Bilo, two of the co-writers behind BTS‘s “Butter,” on how they crafted the international chart-topping hit, which was just named Billboard’s 2021 Song of the Summer. “Anatomy of a Song” takes place on September 29. Two other industry-focused sessions are set for September 15: “Music Publishing 201” will teach the basics of what to do after signing your first publishing deal, and “21 Revenue Streams for Musicians,” presented by Bandzoogle, will explore lesser-known money-making strategies that all songwriters should consider.

ASCAP Experience will also launch ASCAP’s Hispanic Heritage Month celebration with a conversation on September 15 between two Latin music stars, to be announced. The virtual sessions are all free to the public and can be attended by RSVPing here.

This year’s ASCAP Experience has already presented exclusive conversations with Timbaland, Swizz Beatz, and D-NiceChris Stapleton, Greg Kurstin, Cassadee Pope, Madeline The Person, and many more which can be seen on-demand here.

The full September schedule for ASCAP Experience is below:

Music Publishing 201 – Next Steps
September 15 – 3 p.m. ET/12 p.m. PT – Watch on ascapexperience.com

Congrats! Your career has started to take off, and you’ve landed a coveted publishing deal. So what’s next? Now that you’ve got your foot in the door, how do you work with your publisher to kick it wide open? Join our illustrious panel of music publishing vets for insider info about making the most of this vital relationship. You’ll learn how to engage with your publisher to set goals for your career, and how you can best work together to channel your creativity into continued success.

Panelists include: Round Hill Music – Nashville, SVP/GM Mark Brown; Kobalt Music, VP Creative Jamie Kinelski; Worldwide Publishing, SVP Creative AL “Butter” McLean; and Universal Music Publishing Group VP Latin Music A&R, Ana Rosa Santiago.

21 Revenue Streams for Musicians (Presented by Bandzoogle)
September 15 – 3:45 p.m. ET/12:45 p.m. PT – Watch on ascapexperience.com

Musicians have more control over their careers than ever before. You can record, distribute, sell, stream and promote your music using many affordable tools and platforms. But one of the biggest challenges remains making money as a musician.

See Also

Whether it’s through gigging, selling merch or licensing your music, it’s more important than ever to diversify your revenue streams to build a sustainable career. Join Bandzoogle’s Dave Cool for this workshop to learn about 21 ways to make money from your music.

ASCAP Hispanic Heritage Month Conversation
September 15 – 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT – Watch live on @ASCAPLatino Instagram

Anatomy of a Song – BTS’s “Butter” with Jenna Andrews & Alex Bilo
September 29 – 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT – Watch live on @ASCAP Instagram

Summer 2021 has been the summer of “Butter.” The massive hit from K-pop superstars BTS melted streaming records, ruled the international airwaves and nabbed the #1 spot on Billboard’s Songs of the Summer chart. What does it take to write a worldwide phenomenon like “Butter”? ASCAP songwriters Jenna Andrews & Alex Bilo have the answers – they co-wrote the song! Join us @ASCAP on IG Live with host Chelsea Briggs as Jenna and Alex break down this infectious and endlessly danceable bop.

Scroll To Top