Now Reading
2021 YoungArts Award Competition Open Now Through October 16

2021 YoungArts Award Competition Open Now Through October 16

  • The 2021 YoungArts Award competition has kicked off and will accept applications until October 16, 2020.
2021 YoungArts Award Competition Open Now Through October 16

The nation’s leading arts competition for young artists, YoungArts, is now accepting applications through October 16. Accomplished artists ages 15-18 years old (or in grades 10 – 12) are encouraged to apply online at

The winners of the competition will receive financial awards of up to $10,000, opportunities to work with renowned mentors and leading artists, and will become eligible for exclusive creative and professional development support throughout their careers.

The applications are judged by esteemed discipline-specific panels of artists through a rigorous blind adjudication process. The winners will be announced by the end of November 2020.

“National YoungArts Foundation provides tomorrow’s artists with the support they need today. For almost forty years we have empowered young people to pursue a life in the arts so they can achieve their potential, including their ability as artists to impact society. As our nation faces extraordinary challenges including the COVID-19 pandemic, economic crisis, and the ongoing impact of systemic racism, we are aware of how keenly the world needs what artists can provide, today and tomorrow. For this reason, as we look ahead to 2021, we are expanding our network of support to better serve past, present and future YoungArts award winners and are strengthening our commitment to build a just, diverse and inclusive artistic ecosystem,” said Sarah Arison, Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Jean Shin (1990 YoungArts Winner in Visual Arts & U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts) said, “I strongly encourage all aspiring performing, visual and literary artists to apply to YoungArts. Since 1990, YoungArts has been a part of my artistic community. They have supported and amplified my work throughout the decades and it is an honor to remain connected to the organization and its illustrious award winners as an ongoing mentor to the program.”

The awards have three categories which include Finalist, Honorable Mention, and Merit. The winners will have the opportunity to learn from mentors including Debbie Allen, Mikhail Baryshnikov, Frank Gehry, Wynton Marsalis, Salman Rushdie, and Mickalene Thomas through an expanded program of online and in-person programming. They will also be eligible for additional exclusive creative and professional development support throughout their careers. 

Finalists who are high school seniors are further eligible for nomination to the White House Commission on U.S. Presidential Scholars. 

See Also

Award winners join a distinguished group of leading artists including Daniel Arsham, Terence Blanchard, Camille A. Brown, Viola Davis, Allegra Goodman, Josh Groban, Judith Hill, Tarell Alvin McCraney, Andrew Rannells, Desmond Richardson, and Hunter Schafer.

Artists between the ages of 15–18 or in high school grades 10–12 can enter and must be United States citizens or permanent residents. They must demonstrate excellence in Classical Music, Dance, Design Arts, Film, Jazz, Photography, Theater, Visual Arts, Voice, or Writing.

For more information, visit

Scroll To Top